Department of Immigration and Emigration

Sri Lankan Identity Overseas

Granting extensions for free tourist visa for seven nationals

A free Visa regime is implemented for nationals of China, India, Indonesia, Russia, Thailand, Malaysia, and Japan with immediate effect, until 31.03.2024, launching as a pilot program to rebuild the tourism industry in line with the Cabinet of Ministers Approval 23/1885/602/023 dated 24.10.2023.

02. Nationals of the above-nominated countries possessing Diplomatic, Official, Public Affairs, Service, and Ordinary passports are eligible to enjoy a visa-free regime under this scheme.

03. Above nominated nationals should apply Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) before arrive in Sri Lanka subject to granting/issuing free of charge up to 31.03.2024.

04. The validity period of this free ETA is 30 days and permits double entry from the date of initial arrival to Sri Lanka.

05. Countries already entered bilateral reciprocal agreements for visa exemption for Diplomatic, Official, Service, or Public Affairs passport holders (China, India, Russia, Indonesia, and Thailand) shall enjoy the exemption period already agreed.

06. Though the validity period of ETA obtained by the applicant is valid for 180 days, one has to arrive in Sri Lanka before 31.03.2024 to avail of this special visa-free regime and thereafter an applicant shall obtain ETA on a payment basis at the port of entry to Sri Lanka or online.

07. The facility of extension of visa is made available for those who wish to stay more than thirty (30) days on payment basis.

08. Accordingly, the aforementioned extension of visa on payment basis is permitted to tourists from those nominated counties already arrived in Sri Lanka as well as who intend to arrive in Sri Lanka on or before 31.03.2024.

09. Further to above, this extension can be obtained via online or by approaching the visa division of the Department of Immigration and Emigration.

10. Please note that this particular visa-free regime applies to above seven nominated countries and the rest of the countries shall follow the general rules and regulations applicable to Sri Lanka ETA.



  • Dep. of Immigration and Emigration
  • "Suhurupaya", Sri Subhuthipura Road,
  • Battaramulla.
  • 1962 / +94 112 101 500
  • +94 011 2885 358